top of page
Search
  • Agnes

One Semester - Multiple Views

I created this blog, so people who are interested in absolving an Ersamus semester or year can get a little insight on how it actually is. In this post, you can find a lot of different experiences and views from different students I studied with for the past few months.





Chiara, Slovenia (did an Internship)

This has been one of the most enriching experiences so far! I loved every second of it, and would encourage each and every student to consider a semester abroad. It is the perfect opportunity to get out of your comfort zone . and why not - explore a new country. It is definitely something I will remember for the rest of my life.


Gianluca, Italy

My Erasmus Experience in Brussels was the first I have ever had abroad. My expectation was really different than reality, especially for relationships I made here. I thought it would be more difficult to make friends (and also follow the lessons, of course) because of the language. Bunt unlikely I improved my English easier and faster than I've ever thought. Also living alone is a change. Now I have to think about cooking, shopping, do the laundry. These house works didn´t change me, instead I improved my habits, maybe getting stronger and more self-confident. When I left Italy I thought, I would miss my country but now I'm realising that I will miss my friends from here. Even if we have different cultures and backgrounds,we are also very similar and we're having a lot of fun together. I recommend everyone who can to have this experience!


Sergio, Spain

I consider my Erasmus experience as really long holidays. I'm having a lot of fun with my friends and I'm not having difficulties with studying. For example I'm improving my English without studying it at lot but just living in this multicultural city. I see some changes in my habits, especially in my timetable. I was used to have lunch at 3:00 PM and now I usually have lunch at one. That's one of the cultural differences I'm going through here in Belgium. But I also get to know people from different cultures who have actually similarities with me. What I discovered about myself during this months is, that I should speak less and listen carefully sometimes, and that will be a skill that’s surely useful. The only home sickness I felt was about my old habits which I like to do, but it’s really worth to be here. If you want to do an Erasmus experience as well I have a tip: Do what you feel to do don't just do anything because you feel like you have to.


Merve, Turkey

My experience was different from what I thought it was going to be. For me it was not too hard to adapt. I realised that I was very ambitious and I would fight to reach my dreams. Lifestyle is not so strict here and people are more individualist than in Turkey. I also felt homesick someday and I started to appreciate my country more. The school can be hard sometimes but Brussels is worth coming because I met a lot of people and I learnt some French too. Maybe we look different but when you get to know people from other countries you realise that they can have the same taste of music or interests as you. Finally, if you are a challenger process is the best place to go because it is the heart of Europe and after you leave here you will thank your new friends for broadening your mind and teaching their own thoughts to you.


Helene, Norway

Things I did not expect: that in Belgium people are very social and school was going to be this busy. Here I am more organised partly thanks to my friends. I realised that I can easily make friends from different countries and I can be more organised. The biggest difference is the school system. The food is better here and it's cheaper too. It was not too hard for me to be far from my family because of my previous internship experience.

The keywords for Erasmus in Belgium: beer, fries, waffles, travelling and a lot of homework. The same sense of humour, how much we love to taste new food and travelling are the common points with other Erasmus students.

To the potential students: be opened for new people and new experiences. You will miss your new friends so much!!!


Pia, Germany

This whole Erasmus was much more different than I expected. I don't see changes my habits but I can say that I'm more open to everything than I was before. German culture is similar to here so it was more easy to adapt. I'm very happy about the people I met in the group we have here. We have many common things such as our sense of humour, pretty sarcastic…

For the potential Erasmus students: Use the opportunity to connect to people in the first days, be open. Thanks for everyone and everything, it was a lot of fun!


Yannick, Holland

For me to school was the biggest difference. I have been already in Brussels so I knew it a bit, it helped me. I don't think that I gained a lot of new things in the case of living here, maybe I can manage myself better on my own than previously. Netherlands and Belgium is quite similar. sometimes I felt homesick too, when I was completely alone. I am glad that I could meet new people, talk English a lot as a practice, I feel that improved my language skills. I see the difference for example and learning habits. some of the Spanish people like to learn in bigger groups together, I prefer living on my own. I can advise to every potential student to come here because you can made a lot of great people.






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What to consider before going on Erasmus

In general Will I be all alone? Yes. And No. Of course you are going to start this journey on your own. Nobody else than you can decide for you to start this adventure. I for example was really scared

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page